santa cruz cathedral basilica


pop speak



Who's Online

We have 5 guests and no members online

Trip Advisor

Explanation of Sacred Liturgy

eucharistThe Liturgical Year begins with the First Sunday of Advent Season and ends with the last Sunday of the Ordinary Time. The Ordinary Time of the Year is the time between the Feast of the Baptism of the Lord and Ash Wednesday and between the Feast of Pentecost and the First Sunday of Advent. To put it differently, all the days of the Church Year that are not the Advent-Christmas Season or the Lent-Paschal Season constitute what is called the Ordinary Time of the Liturgical Year. In these two periods we have 33 or 34 Sundays. In Latin this period is called ‘Tempus per Annum’. The 33rd and 34th Sundays have in the Liturgy an eschatological character. By all means the Church wants to keep these Sundays to remind all of us that the whole Universe is moving to its final fulfillment in Our Lord Jesus Christ.

image gallery
© 2011 Santa Cruz Cathedral Basilica I Designed By Eventual Infotech